Motor Sports - Other - November 27, 2019

Isuzu D-MAX Wins 2019 ECB SuperUtes Championship

In its debut season of competition, the Caltex Delo® Racing Isuzu D-MAX SuperUte has won the 2019 ECB SuperUtes Championship, with Ross Stone Racing’s Tom Alexander driving onto the podium for the fifteenth and final time, at the Coates Hire Newcastle 500, 22-24 November 2019.

Proving to critics that he made the right choice when he switched from a Holden Colorado that he raced in 2018, to an Isuzu D-MAX, Tom Alexander promptly proved his pace by claiming P2 at the season opener in Adelaide, before taking top spot in the following round in Perth. With solid points under his belt, Alexander commanded each race round from a comfortable position near the front, consistently finishing with solid points to build his lead over the course of the eight round Championship.

Fast-forward to the final round at the Coates Hire Newcastle 500, which Tom Alexander started with a 60-point lead over championship rival, Cameron Crick. Showing pace early, the young-Kiwi capitalised on that lead, taking Pole Position on Friday, followed by the win in Race 1 on Saturday. With an unassailable lead in the points, Alexander finished the final two races in P2—securing himself valuable points to win the round and more importantly, the 2019 championship.

Over the course of the twenty four race season, Alexander chalked up five wins, fifteen podiums and three pole positions, to a total of 1,203 championship points—67 points clear of Cameron Crick in 2nd.

“It feels so good to lift that trophy at the end of the season, it was a long road to get to here, but we did it!” said an elated Tom Alexander.

“I couldn’t have asked for a better team to support me, a better car to race, better sponsors—thanks Caltex Australia and Isuzu UTE Australia—who believed in me, or a better bunch of blokes to race against—they all drove incredibly well throughout the season,” Tom Alexander concluded.

Ross Stone Racing Team Boss, Ross Stone said, “Tommy raced smart all season and he did an incredible job to win the 2019 Championship”.

“He (Alexander) had the right tool for the job this year—switching from the Colorado to the D-MAX for the 2019 season—which performed incredibly well and allowed him to consistently earn points all season, rather than focusing on outright race wins. It’s a strategy that has worked for Champions all around the world and I’m proud to see Tommy lift the Championship trophy at the end of this season,” he concluded.

With the SuperUtes category set to shift from the manufacturer supplied diesel power plants to a controlled-class V8 petrol power plant, no decision has currently been made if the Caltex Delo® Racing Isuzu D-MAX SuperUte will return for the 2020 ECB SuperUtes Season.

For the 2019 ECB SuperUtes Season, Ross Stone Racing prepared and campaigned the Caltex Delo® Racing Isuzu D-MAX SuperUte, with Tom Alexander behind the wheel. 2019 marks the first season that Isuzu UTE Australia has been involved, partnering with Ross Stone Racing on the D-MAX SuperUte, which is built on the Isuzu D-MAX Crew Cab ute platform, utilising the production fitted 3-litre turbo diesel engine, with minor revisions to the powertrain and suspension setup.

Championship Points at the conclusion of 2019 ECB SuperUtes Season

1 Caltex Delo Racing Tom Alexander Isuzu D-MAX 1203
2 Total Tools Team Triton Racing Cameron Crick Mitsubishi Triton 1136
3 EFS 4×4 Racing Ryal Harris Mazda BT50 1053
4 Fat Freddy’s Ben Walsh Toyota Hilux 985
5 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Woods Toyota Hilux 781
6 Allgate Auto Doors Racing Christopher Formosa Ford Ranger 730
7 Mitsubishi Motors Team Triton Toby Price Mitsubishi Triton 575
8   Craig Thompson Toyota Hilux 552
9 Tank World Benjamin Falk Holden Colorado 545
10 Mitsubishi Motors Team Triton Elliot Barbour Mitsubishi Triton 336
11   Jaiden Maggs   248
12 Sieders Racing Team Michael Sieders Toyota Hilux 245
13   Gerard Maggs   231
14   Jeff Watters   229
15 AC Delco Nathan Pretty Holden Colorado 163
16   Joshua Anderson   141
17   Kevin Stoopman   127
18   Madison Dunston   123
19 Sieders Racing Team Luke van Herwaarde Toyota Hilux 99
20 West End Mazda Adam Dodd Mazda BT50 64
21   Ronnie Conquest   52
22   Peter Major   48
23 Mitsubishi Motors Team Triton Craig Dontas Mitsubishi Triton 19